top of page
  • minatideswell

Raise Your Flag

As a little girl, I swore a princess is what I would be,

With the prettiest dress and big high heels - just you wait and see!

I’ll go dancing every evening, and fall asleep under a starry sky,

Not an ounce of strife, not a care in my life, because princesses never cry.


Right?


Or perhaps I was missing a part of the picture, that storybooks failed to teach,

The part with pressure, beyond all measure, alone and out of reach.

It made me wonder about Elizabeth, crowned in June of ’53,

Was she afraid, of the price to be paid, that no one would ever see?


Sure, I guess it’d be nice, for a butler to lace up my shoes,

And bring me pearls, from wealthy earls, in pinks and golds and blues.

And giggle with charming suitors, a glass of bubbly balanced in one hand,

But is it me they crave, or the power God gave, to rule his precious land?


And I'd certainly miss the spontaneity, of living by my own rules,

Ferried from place to place, just to show my face, and flaunt my latest jewels.

While political tensions escalate, and I’m supposed to know what to do,

A crisis to avert, authority to assert, and the nation’s eyes on you.


So I’m going to live a life, that I’m proud to say was mine,

No claim to fame, to remember my name, and you know what? That’s just fine.

I’d rather be trailblazer, a pioneer, a fleeting spark,

Who didn’t need the frills and luxuries, in order to make a mark.


We are England; since 927 AD, where democracy and freedom took root,

We won the war, we opened a door, seeds of success became fruit.

This fruit fed its people, and a little island took its first breath,

A thorn in the side, of anyone who tried, to bring about its death.


We serve the same kingdom, whether you like to admit it or not,

Kings and sailors, nurses and tailors, and everything in common you’ve got.

No job is more important than another, that’s a trap into which you fall,

But plans change, so get ready rearrange; I’m not a princess after all.


Laugh in the face of adversity, and buckle up for a rocky ride,

Three lions are a force to be reckoned with, be grateful we’re on your side.

No one asked for your opinion on patriotism, or the monarchy we've become,

So save your objection, for the next election, and be proud of where you’re from.



57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Old Soul

bottom of page